The Prime Ministers of the 20th Century

Edited by Francis Beckett

From Lord Salisbury to Tony Blair, the books of this twenty-volume set biographically profile the nineteen men and one woman who served as Prime Minister of Britain during the twentieth century. Each volume contains a chronological narrative that examines the life prior to arrival at 10 Downing Street, their activities while holding the premiership, and assesses their political legacy. Each volume also contains a chronology detailing international and domestic British political and cultural events during the Prime Minister’s term in office and a guide to further reading.

FRANCIS BECKETT is a writer, journalist, and contemporary historian. His numerous books include biographies of three other Prime Ministers, Attlee, Macmillan, and Blair.

32 volumes | PBK
View each book in the series here.

Additional information